We decipher the contentious positions between France and Argentina
Sports

We decipher the contentious positions between France and Argentina

After the Belgian Somme, the English Somme and the Moroccan Somme, it gave way to the French Somme. Difficult after Monday’s defeat, after crowning the squad against Lionel Messi Sunday in Qatar, despite Kiki’s exploits. And for every loser, or almost, there is already a lot of arguing about the arbitration of the Polish Szymon Marciniak, who has 2 on the team, but 7.5 for the Argentine media. Former professional referee Philip Mallig returns for 20 minutes In four controversial situations, while he warned from the start: “We must stop looking for excuses for our defeat.”

Is Dembele fault on Di Maria?

The first half was not played after a penalty kick had already been given to Argentina. Coincidentally, well, okay. Argentina benefited from the beginning of the tournament from generous penalties at times, and to see Di Maria collapse we told ourselves that it was another blow from FIFA to crown the Bulga title. Dembele, however, should never have jumped the Argentine’s first trick, because defending from behind often leads to disaster.

Opinion Philip Mallig : “At real speed I tend to agree with the referee, I also had the impression that there was contact. Looking at the replay, I can’t tell if there was contact or not. But from the moment there is slight contact, there is contact, and therefore a penalty. All scoring procedures are reviewed The goals are by VAR, and if they don’t call it, it’s because they think there was no obvious foul. The procedure was followed.”

Dembele connected with Di Maria in the area during the final between France and Argentina.
Dembele connected with Di Maria in the area during the final between France and Argentina. – BeinSports screenshot

Did Otamendi deserve the red color for his foul on Kolo Mwani (78th place)?

The Argentines lead by two goals to nil, there are only ten minutes left to play and we already know that Messi will lift the one trophy he lacks. This is without relying on incoming Kolo Mwani, who managed to get the upper hand over Otamendi to go into the goal after an opener from Mbappe. But the nimble Argentine frustrates the striker before he has time to shoot. Penalty. A small victory indeed, but the Blues bench rushed to the fourth official to demand a red card. Otherwise, Otamendi will not be notified.

Opinion Philip Mallig : “Actually, the concept of the last defender never existed, it is the concept of annihilating the net chances of the goal that counts. At the time, it did not shock me that Simon Marciniak did not give cards. The rule is that there is no more double penalty in the deck. Before that It is a penalty kick and a red card, which becomes more yellow if the action is inside the penalty area, red if it is outside the penalty area.There is also the idea of ​​intention to touch the ball that comes into play.

Randall Kolo Mane collapses inside the penalty area after a foul by Otamendi.
Randall Kolo Mane collapses inside the penalty area after a foul by Otamendi. – BeinSports screenshot

Shimon Marchiniak cancels a French counter-attack (90 + 7)

criminal. This is the best qualifier that comes to mind when we think of Szymon Marciniak’s whistle at the end of the match, with only 30 seconds left in extra time. Koeman recovers the ball at the entrance to the Blues surface and quickly moves forward. But Acuna launches a loose tackle nipping the counterattack in the bud. The Bayern player somehow managed to get up to push his effort but the Polish referee whistled wrongly and warned Akuna. However, Mbappe and Kolo Mwani sprinted towards the opponent’s goal, with only one defender visible, and another off the field.

Opinion Philip Mallig : “All in all, I think he did great refereeing in terms of running the event. But if there’s one thing he didn’t do well, it’s cutting the edge. Maybe he didn’t have the right line of sight, or he didn’t have the line of sight wide enough to see the attack site.” The counter beeped so fast, technically it should have waited and returned to the error.

Coman tries to get up to continue the counterattack but Szymon Marciniak whistles for a foul.
Coman tries to get up to continue the counterattack but Szymon Marciniak whistles for a foul. – BeinSports screenshot

Was Messi’s second goal correct (110)?

At first we thought it was an offside situation. Then a miraculous rescue from Condi on his line. But nope, Messi’s third Argentine goal was confirmed by Simon Marciniak. When it shouldn’t have been because two Argentinian substitutes were on the pitch when Messi pushed the ball in with his right foot. These interferences constitute a violation of Law 3, Paragraph 9 of the IFAB (International Football Association Board) which governs this sport: “If, after a goal has been scored, the referee realizes before play has restarted that an extra person was on the field when the goal was scored: the referee must refuse The goal if the extra person: a player, a substitute, a substitute player, a player or a team official who scored the goal; play must be restarted with a direct free kick from the place where the extra person is. »

Opinion Philip Malini There is a difference between theory and practice. In fact, if there are more than 11 players on the court, the extra player(s) must be whistled against. But you really have to see it, and I guess he didn’t realize it at the time. I myself realized that this [lundi] morning. In any case, the presence of these players has no effect on the match, I am a supporter and a referee at the same time and I think we have to stop looking for excuses for our defeat. »

Two Argentine players are on the field as Messi pushes the ball into the goal.
Two Argentine players are on the field as Messi pushes the ball into the goal. – BeinSports screenshot

Was there a hand from Upamecano before the second French penalty kick (115)?

In a video clip that appeared on Monday morning on social media, we see French defender Daewoo Uppicano touching the ball very hard with his hand on a cross from Koeman. In the process, Mbappe recovers the ball and shoots. Argentine defender Montiel drives away and Simon Marciniak hits the penalty spot. But if Upamecano makes a hand like in the video, the penalty must be overturned. Except that by reviewing the movement from different angles, we realize that at no time Upamecano touches the ball with his hand, but with his head, with already an arm movement that seems to accompany the path of the ball.

Opinion Philip Mallig : “Now I’m skeptical of all these videos that come out that can very well be faked, especially with technical means these days. In video the hand is really huge and I’d be very surprised if it worked. Unless it’s Gilbert Montagne in the VAR, Otherwise it wouldn’t be possible to overtake it. Generally speaking, I’m wary of slow movement, which can be misleading. Didn’t the referee give enough energy? I prefer to look at his performance as a whole and find that the three important decisions he made [les trois penalties] It seems justified. He retained control, and did not affect the outcome when he was under tremendous pressure, in terms of risk, and atmosphere. And at every World Cup, new instructions are dictated, and apart from the match between Argentina and Holland, the referees gave very few cards.


#decipher #contentious #positions #France #Argentina

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button